top of page

From the horse's mouth (so to speak)

My wonderful EAL/D students inspires me everyday. The more I hear about the struggles of her family in Nigeria, the more I imagine the impact this has on her forever. As I reflect on our many conversations about what life what like for her as a child in Nigeria, I think about the spaces that children went to school in and way girls were treated. She explains that her school building was made of straw and when she came to Australia, she couldn't believe that she was allowed to sit at a chair, let along have a desk to write on. She explains that if they were lucky enough to have chairs, the boys were always the ones who got to sit on them. I nearly cried when she told me.

Boy, we are so very lucky to live in a country where education is valued by everyone and girls are treated equally.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page